Aguada, Puerto Rico

Aguada, Puerto Rico Sotomayor’s Villa Aguada (ah-GWAH-dah) is known as “El Pueblo Playero” (Beach Town), “La Ciudad del Vaticano”, “Sotomayor’s Villa” and “Villa de San Francisco de Asís”, this last name in reference to the town’s patron saint. There’s also a say, “Por Aguada fue” which means that Aguada was the first place where Christopher Columbus landed. Aguada is located on the island’s western region. On the north, it borders the Atlantic ocean and...

Read More | Lea Mas
aguadilla las ruinas

Aguadilla, Puerto Rico

Aguadilla, Puerto Rico The Water Hole Villa Aguadilla (ah-gwah-DEE-yah) is known popularly as the “city of springs.” The nickname comes from the spring or Río Chiquito, known today as the Parterre. Aguadilla is also known as the “town of sharks”, the “new garden of the Atlantic” and the place where “even the stones sing”. A town of traditions, Aguadilla celebrates a festival in honor of its patron saint, Saint Charles Borromeo, in November. Aguadilla...

Read More | Lea Mas
anasco playa

Añasco, Puerto Rico

Añasco, Puerto Rico Where The Gods Die Añasco (ah-NYAHS-ko) is known as “the town where the gods die,” “the puff pastry town,” “the blood sausage town,” and “the natives.” The patron saint is Saint Anthony the Abbot. Añasco is located in the valleys of the west coast of the island, and is bordered by the Río Grande de Añasco. It is bordered by the towns of Rincón, Aguada, and Moca to the north; Mayagüez...

Read More | Lea Mas
cabo rojo faro

Cabo Rojo, Puerto Rico

Cabo Rojo, Puerto Rico Cofresí’s Town Cabo Rojo (KAH-bo, ro-ho) is known as the “Cofresí’s town,” “the hatchetmen,” “Betances birthplace” and “the capital of internal tourism in Puerto Rico”. The geography of this town is characterized by the diversity of its geography, its natural resources, and the diversity of its ecosystems. Its beautiful landscapes include beaches as Combate, Boquerón, Playa Sucia, Puerto Angelino, Joyuda, lagoons (Atolladero, Joyuda, Guaniquilla, and Boquerón Channel), bays (Bramadero, Puerto...

Read More | Lea Mas
El Faro Viejo

Guánica, Puerto Rico

Guánica, Puerto Rico Friendship City Guánica (GWAH-nee-kah) is known as “El Pueblo de la Amistad,” “Los Jueyeros,” “El Pueblo de las Doce Calles,”and “La Puerta de la Cultura” (Friendship Town, The Crabbers, Town of the Twelve Streets, Portal to Culture). The town’s patron saint is Saint James the Apostle, whose festival is celebrated on July 25. Other important celebrations are the Fish Festival held every year in April, and the annual commemoration on August...

Read More | Lea Mas

Hormigueros, Puerto Rico

Hormigueros, Puerto Rico Town of Our Lady of Monserrate Hormigueros (or-mee-GAI-ros) is known as the “Town of Our Lady of Monserrate”, “miracle town” and “the pilgrim’s town”. The patron saint is Our Lady of Monserrat. Hormigueros is located in the western coastal plains and western side of Puerto Rico. It is bordered on the north by Mayagüez, on the south by Cabo Rojo and San Germán, on the east by San Germán and on...

Read More | Lea Mas
isla mona

Mona Island, Puerto Rico

Mona Island, Puerto Rico Amoná Mona Island is known as the island of “Amoná” and is located at a distance of 73.6 kilometers (45.7 miles) from the western coast of Puerto Rico. Mona Island is one of the places where we can find a almost infinite variety of wild life. This fauna goes from insects, reptiles, marine turtles, and birds. Mona Island is not a vocational center nor a tourist center. It is an...

Read More | Lea Mas
La Parguera

Lajas, Puerto Rico

Lajas, Puerto Rico Cardinal City Lajas (LAH-huz) is known as the “Cardinal City” and “The rock throwers”. The patron saint is the Virgin of Candelaria, whose festival is held in February. The municipality has become a favored site for tourism, both for locals and foreigners. La Parguera is a tourism center that includes the phosphorescent bay and mangrove canals. The municipality is situated in the southwest part of Puerto Rico. It is bordered on...

Read More | Lea Mas
mayaguez estatua

Mayagüez, Puerto Rico

Mayagüez, Puerto Rico Sultan of the West Mayagüez (mah-yah-GWES) is known as “the Sultaness of the West,” because, according to legend, there was an extraordinarily beautiful woman of Arab features with whom everyone fell in love. It has also been called the “the city of pure waters”, “the birthplace of Eugenio María de Hostos,” the “jelly roll city,” “the city of the Indios (a baseball team), and “the mango town”. The patron of the...

Read More | Lea Mas
moca flor

Moca, Puerto Rico

Moca, Puerto Rico The Mundillo Lace Capital Moca is known as the “Capital of Mundillo Lace” and the “Town of the Vampires”. The patron saint is Nuestra Señora de la Monserrate. Moca is bordered on the east by the municipality of San Sebastián, on the west by Aguada, on the north by Isabela and Aguadilla and on the south by Añasco. Geographically, it is part of the sub-region called the western coastal valleys. This...

Read More | Lea Mas
rincon faro

Rincón, Puerto Rico

Rincón, Puerto Rico Town of Beautiful Sunsets Rincón (ring-KON) is known as the “Town of the Beautiful Sunsets” and “Surfing Town,” its residents are called “The Surfers”. Its patron saint is Santa Rosa de Lima. Rincón is visited by thousands of tourists each year. Since the celebration of the World Surfing Championship almost twenty years go, Rincón’s six beaches have turned into the winter mecca for people who practice surfing. Whales in danger of...

Read More | Lea Mas
sabanagrande palma

Sabana Grande, Puerto Rico

Sabana Grande, Puerto Rico Town of Prodigies Sabana Grande (sah-BAH-nah GRAHN-de) is known as the “Town of Prodigies”, the “Town of the Virgen del Rosario del Pozo,” the “City of the Petate” and the “Town of the Petate Makers”. The petate is a mat made from a type of palm (Thrinax morrisii) that grows in the area. This palm weave had diverse uses, among them: sleeping mats, and mats to dry coffee and other...

Read More | Lea Mas
sangerman coeli

San Germán, Puerto Rico

San Germán, Puerto Rico The City of Hills San Germán (sahn her-MAHN) is known as the “City of the Hills”, the “City of the Swallows”, the “Founding City”, the “Cradle of Puerto Rican Basketball” and the “Pilgrim City.” The patron saint is San Germán de Auxerre and residents are called sangermeños. San Germán is bordered on the north by the municipalities of Mayagüez and Maricao, on the east by the municipality of Sabana Grande,...

Read More | Lea Mas

You May Also Like